Infuence of ABS on rear-brake pedal usage - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Apr 14th, 2007, 5:43 pm Thread Starter

Infuence of ABS on rear-brake pedal usage

I'm a newbie who, after passing the MSF's Basic Rider Course last June, began learning to ride on a used, 2002 Honda CB750 Nighthawk. After logging ~5000 miles on the Honda last riding season, I custom-ordered a fully loaded 2007 K12GT last fall, and it finally arrived here a few weeks ago, but so far I've ridden the GT only 300 miles due to unusually bad weather here in Ohio.

That said, I'm now very curious as to how other riders who've also advanced from a previous bike without ABS, to a new bike with ABS, such as the K12GT with ABS II. My personal approach with the K12GT has been to continue practicing the braking techniques I was first taught in the Basic Rider Course, which is to always manually and appropriately apply both the front and rear brakes in most situations.

As partial integrated ABS systems become increasingly more widely available on modern motorcycles, it seems to me that ABS may be fostering a growing temptation among some riders to become overly complacent and overly reliant on using just the front brake lever, while simultaneously beginning to de-emphasize and even forget about also manually applying the rear brake with one's right foot.