J&M CB - Need Help - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Sep 3rd, 2009, 1:42 pm Thread Starter

J&M CB - Need Help

I tried posting this on K1200GT classic, but had no luck. I am a newbie and am installing a handlebar mounted CB. The instructions say not to connect to the battery, of course. It would be convenient to connect to a 4 prong under the left side of the seat. Any idea which wire is power? Blue/white, Blue/black, Red/white, There is also Brown (ground I think?) Any better / other convenient place to get power? BTW - what is that 4 prong for in the first place? Thanks!!

UTurn 2004 K1200GT - Best bike I ever owned!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Sep 3rd, 2009, 8:45 pm Thread Starter

Found out

Wound up connecting to tail light power....works great
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old Sep 3rd, 2009, 9:35 pm
Noob

Followup J&M CB Installation Question

I just bought an 09 GT and have a J&M CB (BMW version) on order. Does the stock J&M antenna license plate bracket "clear" the panniers or did you have to modify the bracket? Also, do you have an top case and is there any interference. Thanks for your comments as they will help me over the weekend during my installation.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old Sep 3rd, 2009, 10:09 pm Thread Starter

J&M

I used the J&M license plate bracket that came with the antenna and it clears all of my side cases (standard, city, and large). However, I have a GIVI 45 top case and it will rub. I will fabricate an extension for the bracket that will give me a few inches of clearance on the right side. I have one concern and that is the antenna will be about 10" from my passenger. I'm worried about reception. I'll post the results on Monday.
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old Sep 5th, 2009, 8:38 pm
Noob

"The instructions say not to connect to the battery"
Uh, OK... This is what my instructions say,