How 2 wire autocom to my K12RS -- help needed. - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Jun 26th, 2006, 12:14 pm Thread Starter

How 2 wire autocom to my K12RS -- help needed.

Hey all --

I already have my GPS unit wired from the bike's parking light circuit. Installing an Autocom Pro AVI soon and thought I'd ask for some advice.

I have the Sargent saddle so I store my toolkit in the compartment in the seat pan -- which leaves my tool-kit cubbyhole under the seat open for the Autocom. I thought I would run the rider headset lead up between my legs (between the seat and tank) and the passenger headset lead to come out either out from under the seat near the passenger's left knee -- or maybe get ambitious and mount it into the spare accessory plug hole on the left side of the bike (I had an extra accessory plug installed on my dash, so I'm covered with two already.)

So, being an electrical novice, I have some questions ....

First, is there a particular place in the bike's power circuit I should wire the Autocom into -- for example, if I go straight off the battery wouldn't I run the risk of draining the battery when the bike's not powered on? (yeah, I'm sure the Autocom will turn itself off when not in use, etc etc -- but still, I'd feel better knowing it was getting power only when the bike was on).

What's the best place to "tap into" the system - both for ease of install and also switched power??

Second, what do you think about my location of the headset leads? Any other ideas?

TIA!
Howard

PS. I don't need to add a fuse block or anything, do I????

When I'm not rockin' @ radio.wazee I'm screamin' around Denver on my 2003 K1200RS!

Click here to view my photo gallery of bike pics!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Jun 28th, 2006, 10:06 am Thread Starter

Bump. Any input? I know there are some electrical wizzards here