BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

Please tell me this will get better...

4K views 19 replies 10 participants last post by  ThirtyTwo 
#1 ·
I've been riding friends' bikes for a few months but I wanted to get my own bike, so I did my research and found that I should be able to afford an older BMW. I couldn't ever get used to the looks of the R-series, so I picked a K bike and decided the K75 would make a good intro into BMW-World.

I bought a 1990 K75S with 29,000 miles on it. The bike had sat on Craig's List for a few weeks while all the other K75s were getting snatched up in days if not hours. Hmmm, should have been a clue...

The guy I bought it from had purchased the bike for his wife. She had a bad experience in traffic and only rode the bike once so it sat in their garage for a year. The good news was that he was a BMW rider, had been to BMW tech school and had a close relative who had owned a BMW dealership.

I brought a friend with me to check out the bike before I bought it. He noticed worn footpegs, an oil seep somewhere in the engine (oil in the bellypan) an a whining, almost turbo, sound coming from the swingarm. While he was riding the bike around the block, the engine experienced bad throttle response, then died and wouldn't start. We tried jumping the battery and ended up getting the solenoid stuck so that connecting both battery terminals resulted in the starter's running. Eventually, we got the solenoid to disengage, gave up on that battery and took the battery out of the seller's other BMW. He had kept a trickle charger on both bikes through the accessory port, so it was odd that the battery was dead, nicht wahr?

I did go ahead and buy the bike. It was a BMW, after all and I had just replaced the battery.