Rear shock absorber leaking - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Sep 7th, 2010, 12:25 pm Thread Starter
Rookie

Rear shock absorber leaking

I just discovered oil leaking onto the final drive and wheel of my K75C. It seems to me the oil is coming from the shock absorber. Is there any way to fix this other than replacing it? (I'm a complete newbie at this, as you can tell.)

Leak
Shock leak

Thanks,
Frode
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Sep 7th, 2010, 3:34 pm

Can you find the manufacturer of the the shock from looking at it? Some of the higher end shocks can be rebuilt for a price. Some can't be rebuilt and will need to be completely replaced.

A new shock can be expensive depending on what you get. Seems like a lot of people have been happy with the Realm Shock from this thread.

http://www.k-bikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21853

A good price it seems too.

You can search around the boards for other shocks, Progressive, Olhins (best but $$$), Hagon...

Its an easy swap once you decide to swap the leaking one out.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Current: 1985 K100RT Stripped.
See it here DC to Gaspe

Past: 1985 K100
See it here on my trip from DC to Panama
DC to Panama City
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old Sep 7th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Enthusiast

If it's the stock shock pitch it and go with an aftermarket variety. They are not worth rebuilding, not sure if they can be.

1987 RED K75S
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old Sep 7th, 2010, 8:12 pm
PsyKotic Waterfowl

The stockers can't be rebuilt. And you wouldn't want to waste the money on it if they could. They're not exceptionally bad, just not exceptionally good either.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old Sep 8th, 2010, 5:17 am Thread Starter
Rookie