1991 K100rs abs brakes - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Jan 28th, 2013, 1:43 pm Thread Starter
Noob

1991 K100rs abs brakes

Hello,
Recently put on new brake rotors and pads. Have bleed the front calipers and abs modules several times. What I still have is when you pull the front brake lever, it is firm, the bike slows down well. Just as you are about to stop, maybe at 0 speed almost, the front brakes let go for a second then grab again. You can hold the front brake lever in and the brakes let go then grab again to stop.
Anyone got any ideas?
Thanks
Duke
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2013, 1:16 pm
Rookie

I am far from an expert on ABS brakes, but I would say you have not bleed all the air out of the ABS unit. It takes time and patience to do the ABS unit.

Just my 2 cents worth

2008 FLHT
2008 R1200RT
1985 K100 RT
1979 XS 650 Street tracker
Ridden everything,owned lots
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old Feb 1st, 2013, 8:38 am
PsyKotic Waterfowl

Just don't stop then.

(j/k)

Are you sure it's just the front letting go?

If you have air in the brakes then they'll be mushy all of the way through the travel so I doubt that's your issue. Your symptoms sound more like what I refer to as a "false positive" - ABS kicking in when you don't think it should.

Does this happen on flat, smooth, predictable pavement? Potholes and/or irregular pavement, when the rear end is getting light while braking can occasionally cause this.

Or braking coming over a rise when the combination of coming over the rise and the lightening of the rear under braking will cause the rear ABS to let go.

It may also be issues with your rear suspension.

First thing I would do is check the front and rear ABS sensor gaps.

Try braking with the front brake only.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old Feb 1st, 2013, 1:08 pm
Veteran