86 K75 Won't start, has fuel and spark - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Aug 13th, 2013, 5:49 pm Thread Starter
Noob

86 K75 Won't start, has fuel and spark

Hi guys,

I am a fairly experienced motorcycle mechanic, but as you know these bikes are quite unique and complicated due to the early fuel injection systems. A friend bought an 86 K75 that a guy had ridden from Montana to Texas, he said it died on him here so he flew back. First problem was a dead fuel pump, easy enough. Replaced it with an aftermarket pump, cleaned the tank, new filter and lines, cleaned and checked all electrical connections etc. new fuel pump works great and has 36 psi at the injector manifold.

The battery voltage is good, it will turn over, has spark on all 3 plugs, and I removed the injectors and have seen them pulse fuel spray simultaneously. Compression on all cylinders is above 170 psi as well. I followed the troubleshooting flow chart I found and traced the problem to what I thought was a bad air flow meter, which failed the tests for both voltage and resistance. However when I replaced the air flow meter, the bike still will not start. Air filter is also in good shape and no nests or blockages.

I've cleaned the grounds, checked everything I can think of, and read 20 pages of "no start" posts on here. The only thing I can imagine is that some sensor related to timing is off so it sparks when the valve is open, I have heard it puff and hiss while trying to start it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I am at a loss as to how it won't run with the injectors pulsing, good spark, and compression. Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Aug 13th, 2013, 6:49 pm
PsyKotic Waterfowl

Here's what I'd do: