BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

Need Help removing fuel tank on 92 K100RS

6K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  FlyingDuck 
#1 ·
Hey guys,
I am new to BMW's and this forum.
I bought a 1992 K100rs. I need to replace the cooling fan, but the Clymer manual is useless. I do not want to damage anything, so I'd love a little help. The Clymer says to release pressure on the fuel system and remove various fuel hoses, then remove the bolt at the rear of the tank under the seat. I do not see a mounting bolt ANYWHERE! At the rear of the tank, underneath I see what appears to be two rubber bumpers between the frame rails and the tank. ? I know something is holding the seat down but I do not see anything. I also plam to replace the water / oil pump, if the very slight oil leakage into the cooling system does not stop.
Thanks for any and all input!

Tony P
Monroe, NC

Attachments

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Your manual is describing the early method of tank mounting on the K100. The tank on your '92 is mounted with two "pegs" at the rear of the tank into grommets in the frame. The pegs are held in place with "E" clips under the grommets. After the clips are removed, you pull up on the rear to release it. From my experience, removing and installing isn't easy.

The seat release is on the left side, below the seat about half way back. It is lockable so you may have to unlock with the key. Push inward to release the seat to hinge up. You remove the seat by removing three e clips from the pivot points of the seat. You may have to remove the side covers for better access. They come off by pulling the forward mount peg out of the tank grommet, pushing the cover down to release a hook in the center, then forward to release the rear peg.

Frank

#4 ·
You'll have to remove the tank (at least mostly) to service the cooling system later.

I, too, recommend removing the radiator to do this job.

Frank

#5 ·