1995 K1100RS -- thinking of buying: help! - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Sep 10th, 2015, 9:26 am Thread Starter
Rookie

1995 K1100RS -- thinking of buying: help!

Hi all... glad to be back!

Just to set the context... I have been riding since 1987 and have owned 10 motorcycles. I am currently enjoying my urban commuting toy: a 2015 Yamaha SMAX (SX155) scooter!

The scooter is just plain fun. It will even do a GPS indicated 112 km/hr with rpm left to spare! The problem, of course, is that while this flickable little toy offers a spirited ride and sips fuel, it is no highway barge!

I used to own a 2001 blue K1200RS, and while I loved the power and torque (and overall appearance), I hated those complex "multi-nipple" servo-assisted brakes (!), difficult-to-remove plastics, and it had a chronic timing chain cover leak that I simply couldn't solve. I got rid of it, and personally, I never regretted that decision for a moment.

Enter 2015... and I am hungry for reliable sport-touring mount.

I came across a "one-owner" 1995 K1100RS with 41,800 km on the odometer at a local dealer. All maintenance up-to-date and it is in excellent overall condition. It is red in colour, and it just stands out as "pure Bavarian" in style.

I love the lines and look, and I love the brick motor. I hear these are the last of the "good bricks", but I don't know.

What can you tell me about this machine, and are there any drawbacks?

2015 Yamaha SMAX (XC155) -- "battle scooter"
Looking at BMW again... what to buy?

Last edited by Kurgan; Sep 10th, 2015 at 9:33 am.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Sep 10th, 2015, 7:05 pm