Phase change cooling vest - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Jun 10th, 2008, 3:27 pm Thread Starter

Phase change cooling vest

Anyone have one of these? http://www.stacoolvest.com/index.php
Riding in Texas is brutally hot and my hour commute each way is mostly stop and go, only about 15 miles. When the heat index is 105, plus the bike heat, no moving air, and the pavement heat radiation I'm afraid my boys will melt into the tank and seat.

Anyone try a phase change cooling vest and if so, how well does it work?

Rob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old Jun 16th, 2008, 4:20 pm
Enthusiast

I haven't used this specific brand of cooling vest, but I have used a cooling vest for work purposes and they are worth their weight in gold imho. I am a bomb disposal technician and during a chemical remediation job I did in Oklahoma last August it really saved our bacon!

We were if full chemical protective suits, which trust me, do not breathe a lick, in temperatures in the high 90's with about 85% humidity. If it wasnt for the cooling vests that were supplied, the job would have been physically impossible.

I also live in Texas (Houston), and the cooling vest is defineatly on my list of "must haves" for riding gear. Now they wont help keep you cool all day long, your looking at probably about 2-3 hours of usefullness per cooling insert. For your commute I'd suggest keeping a set of inserts at work and at home and swapping out on each leg of your commute.

Anyway, hope this helps you a bit....
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old Jun 16th, 2008, 4:52 pm
Strafist

I saw 102 on the bike leaving my office in San Antonio (off IH10 and DeZavala). Thought it would cool off when I got out of the city, but even New Braunfels was 100. It did drop to 99 when I got up on FM306 a bit.

I think summer is here.

Do the vests really work in high humidity?

-=grif=-
What was that middle thang?
Sponsored Links