Helmet Noise - any advice - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Sep 25th, 2012, 5:50 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Helmet Noise - any advice

I am new to the BMW world and recently upgraded from a 2004 Sportster to a 2004 K 1200 GT. With that transition, I went from a half helmet to a full face. My full face helmet was an old Vega that cost me $80-$90 dollars back in 2000 when I first got into motorcycling with the purchase of a 76 Honda CB 550. It was time for a new helmet, no doubt.

I realize that helmet opinions are all over the board. I have very little experience with them. In reasearching internet reviews and talking to people, I had come to the conclusion that helmets seemed to have a "brand cache" that drove up the price. With that in mind I purchased a HJC IS-16. Seemed well made, nice features fit well and very affordable.

I rode it for 200 miles today on the superslab at 80 mph and it really sucks. I wished I had that old Vega the whole time. That old "piece of junk" is about 60 -75% quieter than the HJC. The Vega requires no ear plugs for noise what so ever, almost like being in a bubble.

I want a quiet helmet, I don't want to spend $700 but I will spend $500 if that is what it takes or I will spend $80 again.

What gives??? I need some advice. Also if someone loves the HJC I will cut you a deal.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Sep 25th, 2012, 8:36 pm
Addict

look into scorpion i really like mine also try ear plugs or earphone's with music i dont leave home without it...

i've spent most my money on bike's boat's and broad's the rest i've wasted..
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Sep 26th, 2012, 9:24 am
Sooper Dooper Moderator