Avon Storms? Anyone tried them yet? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Nov 20th, 2006, 1:25 pm Thread Starter

Avon Storms? Anyone tried them yet?

Has anyone tried the new Avon Storm tires yet? The Avon site states that it is the replacement for the 45/46 Azaros. I've been riding on the Azaros for a few years now and really like them.

Here is what is on their site (http://www.avon-motorcycle.com/):

Motorcycle Tyres: Sport Touring
Storm-ST

The long-lasting, all-weather, high performance sports touring tyre.

* Incorporates the very latest bike tyre technology 'Reactive Footprint'. The tyres contact patch changes size and shape depending on lean angle - for the life of the tyre
* Unique construction means excellent performance combined with very long life
* 'Super-Rich Silica' rubber compound gives superb wet road grip
* Front tread pattern optimised for shorter stopping distances in the wet
* Excellent stability and handling whatever the lean angle

The Storm-ST replaces Avon's Azaro-ST and builds on its predecessor's talents. Employing what's called 'Reactive Footprint' (RF) technology, the Storm-ST produces a footprint that changes size and shape depending on the bike's lean angle, growing in size the further over the bike goes. It means you get high grip through the corners yet in a straight line have a footprint which increases the Storm-STs lifespan. Avon's RF Technology is a quantum leap in technology from the dual compound tread, and will provide unparalleled evenness in wear patterns.

The wet weather performance of the Storm-ST is outstanding, thanks in part to the tyre's Super-Rich Silica (SRS) compound. The extremely high silica content delivers optimum grip in the wet and dry. It also has the added benefit of warming up quickly.