Do you have an idle problem on your K brick? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Jul 19th, 2007, 2:45 pm Thread Starter
Addict

Do you have an idle problem on your K brick?

I don't have an idle problem, but I do have a motor sitting on my garage floor nearly rebuilt and I'm looking straight down the inlet throat of the beast. This is a rare moment, you can't do this in the frame.

If you've had ECU's changed or the stealer has been tinkering with your bike this may not be for you. However, If your bike has been running fine then suddenly starts to develop idle problems this may be your problem:

Efi motors aren't magic. If your bike has been working fine and then starts giving idle problems, I always suggested the problem was physical - nothing to do with the ECU, although the ECU may have a response to try to correct a problem or find the problem puts its mixture calculation out of range.

So, I'm studying 4 ABS plastic manifold stubs which have O ring grooves 2mm deep and 2.4 mm O rings fitted and I'm thinking, they haven't left much to make a face seal. I torque down no.1 and have an idea. Wind the crank so the valves are shut, stick my pinky over the injector hole and blow down the stub. Wow there's an air leak at the base! Now this is the most critical area to not want an air leak, the same applies to the injector O ring when fitted with the rail. On idle the injection cycle is very short and fuel hangs around a long time waiting for induction.

I remove the stub, blue the face and put it on a surface plate: Wow, its like a banana (in machine thou terms) and the 2 ali bushes they set in the moulding are raised above the surface. I check the other 3 - all similar.