fuel pump always running - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2008, 8:48 pm Thread Starter

fuel pump always running

I have a 88 k75 and the only way I can get the fuel pump to stop running is to unhook the battery. Anybody know what may be done to fix this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Apr 5th, 2008, 11:11 am Thread Starter

Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bootlegjack1
I'm a newbie with a 88 k75. When I cut the engine off the fuel pump keeps running. The only way I can get it to stop is unhook the battery.
Anybody know what I can do to fix this or tell me if it's normal?
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Apr 5th, 2008, 2:19 pm
Looking for better limits...

Ok, are you sure it's the fuel pump and not the starter? I only ask because the starter has come up many times and it's a stuck relay. Removing the battery cable is the only way to stop it until you take care of the relay.

I believe the fuel pump has a relay as well and may act similarly. I'm not sure if the power for the fuel pump goes through additional contacts other than the relay. Best approach for both scenarios is to remove the relay, and either whack it a couple of times to see if you can free up the contacts, or replace the relay.

Make sure the battery is fully charged before you re-connect the battery cable, or you may "weld" the contacts of the new relay as well.

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Ray
2010 K1300GT Royal Blue
2003 K1200GT Orient Blue (for sale)
2007 G650 X-Challenge

IBA #34158

Be a K-Bikes Supporter

I work for Keyser SŲze
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old Apr 6th, 2008, 7:59 am Thread Starter