K100 cold start problems - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Oct 21st, 2009, 2:44 pm Thread Starter
Noob

K100 cold start problems

Hi,

I did a search for K100 cold start problems before starting this thread, nothing!

My 85 K100 has suddenly about a month ago started behaving like it needed choke to start it. I know that the choke is actually a low running speed control and nothing more. I was a profesional mechanic before electronics came along ( I stoped working as a mechanic in 1982!) so mechanically I'm OK, this is my first "vehicle" with electronic ignition and fuel injection. I presume that there is a temperature sensor that tells the injection to make the mixture richer when cold. If so where is it? Please enlighten me! I would be grateful for any suggestions and explanations.

Thanks in advance, Matthew
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Oct 21st, 2009, 6:30 pm

So what exactly is it doing?

My LT Will not idle when it's cold (even when the air temps are warm) without a few minutes of fast idle lever time.

There's a temp sensor in the water neck behind the left side of the radiator (as you are sitting the bike) that has two leads on it. One goes to the fan relay in the relay box and the other goes to the FI computer under the seat.

I left this connector off once while working on the bike and it would not start and instantly fuel fouled the plugs. My conjecture is that since the sender is a high resistance when cold, that infinite resistance looks like arctic temps to the FI computer and it goes full rich on start.

Check this page:

http://www.ibmwr.org/ktech.shtml

For a whole lot of leads on trouble shooting the FI, fan and other related stuff.

Tony G

'87 K100LT "Her Teutonic Majesty"
'79 XS750 "The Triple"
'72 A65T "The T-Bolt"
'68 B25 "The Blue Bike"
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Oct 22nd, 2009, 1:55 am Thread Starter
Noob

What it's doing.