Is it the battery or is this normal? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Nov 22nd, 2012, 6:14 am Thread Starter
Noob

Is it the battery or is this normal?

Hi, I am new to BMW and this forum. I recently bought a K1200r and so armed with my handbook I am trying to work out whether some of the issues I am experiencing are normal or a sign of problems I need to address; but as you would expect, the handbook can only go so far.

So, if anybody can tell me whether what I am experiencing is normal that would be a great help.

My issues relate to the battery; I purchased the bike from a main dealer and it came with a clean bill of health only a few weeks ago. I am not using the bike daily – once or twice a week and only for rides of about half an hour. Within a few days of collecting the bike I noticed that the ignition hesitates when the button is pressed and wondered whether that was a sign that the battery is in need of replacement. I then took a trip with the heated grips on and the battery was left without enough charge to restart immediately – the bike did restart once the engine had cooled a little.

Out came the Optimate 4 with can-bus and with trial and error I have found the following:

1. With the ignition in the 2nd position (ie key out but lock not on) the best I can manage is a green and yellow test result – meaning that the battery is between 60% and 80% good

2. With the ignition in the lock position (ie key out and steering lock on) I can get a full green result, meaning that the battery is very good.