2000 K1200RS running Hot - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 2006, 9:13 pm Thread Starter

2000 K1200RS running Hot

Help. I just took my new RS out...70 degree Day. BEAUTIFUL

Maybe it was the day, maybe it is the Bike, but it just wanted to run.....and run fast...THe 70 degree climate seems to encourage the motor to purr...

Then again, this is a new bike for me, and I can hear it purr in the garage...

QUESTION???? I am a newb...

The temp gage seems to be running on the high side. It was hovering almost to the red...Now, I was not on it that hard, nor was the day esp. hot....

Being that I just printed my manual yesterday....again, I am a NEWB.....but any advice?

I did notice my fan come on as I pulled it in the garage...so, it is working, but maybe not
when/as it should.....

Is this a common problem or is that I actually have a temp gage and for the first time in my life, I have the luxury of actually seeing the engine temp....instead of feeling it...Uhm, leave that alone....

suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Mar 13th, 2006, 4:18 am
Addict

There's been lots of threads on this. Summary as follows:

When riding at your temperature the fans shouldn't be on.
Your fans do come on so that's good - just make sure both fans are on.
My fans come on when the temperature gage is about 2/3 up.
At your temperature when riding I'd expect my gage to be about 1/2 way or a shade higher.
It's normal for fans to come on after you stop and stay on afterwards for a couple of minutes, with the ignition on.

It might be worth checking your coolant mix and level so you know you've got a 50-60% mixture.
I've never had a 'New' bike, but if yours is, then it's normal for the motor to run tight and temperatures may be a bit higher than normal to start with.