'04 GT Oil Change/manual - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old May 3rd, 2006, 10:51 am Thread Starter
Addict

Post '04 GT Oil Change/manual

I had bmw cars for 17 years and did all maintenance including shock/strut replacement, driveshaft R&R, Motor Mount R&R, valve adjustments, etc.

I have this bike that is due for service but have to wait 2 more weeks (been waiting 2 already). It seems wise and economical that I change my oil and any other fluids I can access but have no clue how to begin.

The owner's manual is scant on info and the guy I bought the bike from couldn't find his repair CD. Anyone out there have a repair CD for me or some pages that will help me do the fluid changes?

I have the gunsmoke site for the fairing R&R and I'll be replacing my fasteners with stainless from a local bolt place. I'll do some scrubbing while in there and want to know if there's any other advice on this process.

I'm a newb to bikes.

Gravity
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old May 3rd, 2006, 11:37 am

2004 K1200 Gt

Gravity, oil changing requires one to remove the lower engine plastic to access the engine oil drain plug and oil filter cover (small cover attached with three retaining screws). The oil filter may be some difficulty depending whether or not it has a BMW filter or an after market filter. The BMW filter requires a special wrench. The transmission fluid drain plug is located under the transmission case but requires a 14mm allen wrench. It is also located right above a cross member which make draining messy if you do not have a method to redirect the transmission fluid as it come out. The final drive fluid is straight forward.