Help...a bad bleed indeed - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old May 10th, 2006, 11:37 pm Thread Starter

Help...a bad bleed indeed

I was in the process of installing speedbleeder and bleeding my rear wheel for the first time. All was going well, following the EVO guide from the archives, until I hit the rear pedal and the reservoir dropped below the minimum level

Can only blame myself here, but I need to figure out how to get it back in shape. Manual shows refilling from the caliper using a "bubble-free injector" tool...from the pics this sure looks like a sryinge with a tube. My question is how do I make/know such a tool is bubble-free? Second, it states squeezing out the air of the tube from caliper to the reservoir. Guess my question is...how will I know ever know if all the air is out? I have never done this before and already feel like I bite off more than I can chew. While I could certainly get it towed to the dealer, I want know how to do this for myself and learn from my mistake. Help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old May 11th, 2006, 4:43 am
Addict

I know the procedure is a lot more difficult for EVO, but the only two devices I've heard of are the vacuum bleeder (which I use) which you fit on the bleed niple and 'pulls' fluid back from the reservoir. And there's a device that can fit on a reservoir and pressurise the system a bit so you can push fluid through.

In both cases you are constantly checking the reservoir level - the BIG lesson you learned. The BMW push bleeder sounds like you wouldn't get low fluid, but rather you could overflow the reservoir and have fluid all over the bike.