K100 with dead gauges and won't start - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Jul 5th, 2006, 3:12 pm Thread Starter

K100 with dead gauges and won't start

85 K100
I've been riding this bike for about 6 months now. Had a problem once with the start relay hanging. I took it apart and filed the connections and no problems since.

A few days ago, I came out of the gym and the bike had no problem starting. I rode across the parking lot (200m, maybe) cut the engine with the switch and sat there for a few minutes. Then, I went to start the bike and it wouldn't start. It had no gauge power, no gear indicator, no nothing except for the battery light on really bright.

I rolled the bike across the lot to see if it would kick off and it fired right up without a bit of hesitation. But, the starter won't even flicker.
Now, it's on the center stand with the sidestand retracted and I got nothing.

The headlight works, though. And the dash clock does too.
Battery tested @ 12.78 volts when I got it home.

Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Jul 5th, 2006, 5:17 pm
Enthusiast

read here:
http://skylands.ibmwr.org/tom/tech/starter.html

and more info here:
http://www.ibmwr.org/ktech.shtml

HTH,

Mike Kelly

Triple M Engineering

K12RS

Stanley, NC
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Jul 5th, 2006, 7:14 pm Thread Starter

Thanks Mike. Fortunately, I'm a moron and won't be worrying about the start circuit anymore because I forgot to do the simplest thing in the world: look at the fuses.

Yep, I had a blown 7.5 amp fuse. Switching out one of the others to that position made the gauges light up instantly.
I'm a moron. :think:

Thanks for the links though, Mike. I'm not out of the woods yet. I still have a fuse blowing gremlin somewhere.

At least I can ride again!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old Jul 10th, 2006, 10:46 pm Thread Starter

The plot thickens: