A K12R newbie here with a couple of questions - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Sep 5th, 2015, 2:17 pm Thread Starter
Noob

A K12R newbie here with a couple of questions

Hi all. Newbie here with a 2006 K1200R.

I've had loads of bike and I thought it was time to try something different than what I consider to be the usual.

I've never had a BMW before and I've always liked the futuristic look of the K12R.

I've got a mint yellow and black one that doesn't have ABS and ESA, which was another reason for getting it, less to go wrong. I'm only going off what I've read on the net.

But a couple of things,

I've learnt to ride the bike above 2000rpm when I have to ride at slow speed limits to stop the drive train slap. It appears that they all do this? Because of the fuel injection.

But the one I'd like some input on is the clutch lever. It seems very heavy/hard to live with. I can't do more than ten miles and then I'm in absolute agony. I'd need a solution for this.

I know that the 12R has a 32mm clutch slave cylinder and the 13R has a 34mm one to help. I was thinking of going down the route of the Oberon clutch slave cylinder, 36mm as some of you know.

Is this my solution? will it make the difference I'm looking for? Any other ideas?

Just need to sort this then all will be well.

A great bike and a great site. Thanks lads.

Zorst/Ken
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Oct 13th, 2015, 3:47 pm
Noob

Zorst,

I also just bought a 2006 K1200R and I noticed the clutch lever has a heavy pull, but does not pose a problem for me.

Most of my miles are on my 2006 Harley FXSTB. The controls on most other bikes I've ridden felt weak and cheap in comparison.

I would suggest that you stick with it until your hand muscles get used to it.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2016, 11:50 pm
Noob