K1200R probs :( - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Oct 2nd, 2015, 9:50 am Thread Starter
Noob

K1200R probs :(

Hi all just registered so newbie here,
my R started running a bit rough a few months back , running not as smooth as it use to so took it to my local bike shop who straight away diagnosed as plugs , so plugs where changed and it seemed good for a few days , it then was running worse than ever , its best described as an old car with damp ignition probs , it runs fine on high revs but pulling away its seems to have a bit of a stutter and once ya get over 4k revs it seems fine , even after a long journey its no different , took it back to the bike shop and after sat on the diagnostic machine for quite a while he tells me no errors and it revs soo smooth and crisp .Not the same story while driving it .
the bike has the usual rattle on start up (cam chain tension) so i was wondering if it was possible if the chain is quiet loose could this throw out the cam timing ??
i know theres a big issue with the cam chain tension on K bikes so i asked my bike shop to replace with a new hydraulic tentioner , after they spoke to our local bmw dealer they advised him to leave it alone and do not fit a new tentioner , this seems very strange to me
can anybody shed some light on a possible cause ?? could it be something as simple as a faulty plug thats just been changed or am i asking the impossible.
Bike is a 2006 model and has done 22k miles.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Oct 3rd, 2015, 9:57 am