K1200R Sport Gearbox problems :S - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old Aug 28th, 2017, 1:00 am Thread Starter
Noob

K1200R Sport Gearbox problems :S

Hello bimer friends.

I have been enjoying my K1200RS 2007 for two years. Best bike i have ever owned. Before i bought it ive seen that there are some issues with gearbox. Now i have them too. I use bike for riding in two + laguage. So 80% riding is turing. Somethimes with my buddies we go a bit faster, higher rpm. About 2 months ago i was pushing it to do 10k RPM. In fourth gear it slipped out :S I tought it was my mistake, that i accidently tuched somehow shifter and it came down in third or maybe i did not pushed it right in fourt gear....Since then no problems at all, but i was mainly turing.

Yesterday again problems with fourth gear. At about 10-11kRPM it pops out to third. It is really scarry
To make sure i tried the same procedure and again it poped out.

Since i am a mechanic there is no problem repairing gearbox on my own. If my problem is that shiffting forks are bent i can replace them with new.

BUT WHAT IF GEARS ARE DAMAGED? How could Bmw wont send seperate gears??? Only full Gearbox?

Please let me hear your opinion, from you who had problems like me.

Are gears damaged? Or only bent forks? I wont buy new transmission, because it costs 50% of used bike.

What are the solutins??

Thanks in advance!

Luka, Slovenia
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old Oct 9th, 2017, 9:17 am
Noob

Luka,
Had the same problem with my 06 1200r only 2nd gear and the run around began.