Any Differences between model years - K1300R Dynamic? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old Apr 29th, 2019, 11:32 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Any Differences between model years - K1300R Dynamic?

Hi All

Newbie here. Ex K1600 owner, and currently with a R1200GS, looking to add a K1300R to the garage.

Iím planning to look at two bikes here in the UK, both have around 14k miles on them, and both are Dynamics. One is a 2011 for sale with a (non BMW) dealer, the other is a 2013 private sale, but with BMW extended warranty, there is around £1300 difference in the asking prices.

In terms of the model years are there any differences between the two, or are they pretty much the same?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 2019, 1:19 am

Garage
The big difference was with the 1200 to 1300 jump. The 1300 had fixes for just about everything the 1200 needed and more. After the advent of the 1300, it remained pretty unchanged accept for Special additions which were mostly paint and trim and I think they continued to tweak the clutch into later years . I realize you may like the looks of the R but actually, it was the weakest offering of the lot and the sales reflect that. The R kept the servo assist where the S never had it. The headlighting is the weakest of the bunch and you will only get 1 little air cleaner where the S gas 2. They didn't quit selling Rs in the US with the end of the 1200s for no good reason. The S version is also the fastest of the 3 with the weight reduction of the fairingless R version being completely negligible.

I think the most valuable of the K-bike model run would be a '16 1300 S (last year) if you can find one. One of those might almost constitute an investment. I'd bet the last year with the nice Akropovic exhaust and beautiful forged wheels holds its value pretty well.

BTW,