Valve cover oil leak - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Apr 18th, 2020, 2:48 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Garage
Valve cover oil leak

Hey all - After getting a few miles in on my new to me 2006 K1200R, I'm getting a fairly substantial oil leak out of what seems like the valve cover gasket on the front right side of the motor. It only leaks when the motor is running at riding RPMs. Doesn't seem to happen at idle and definitely nothing while the bike is sitting (side stand or rear stand). The leak itself is bad enough that I'll have a small puddle under the bike just sitting at a stop light...and of course it's getting on the rear tire (def not a fan of that).

I'm new to BMW's, not bikes in general, so I thought I'd ask for the wisdom of the internet before I start turning wrenches.

A couple questions:

1) Is this a fairly common issue? The bike only has about 4800 miles on it but has sat for about 5 years. Searching the Googles hasn't turned up much and nothing specific to the R. I assume just a gasket failure from age, but the fact that it doesn't happen at idle has me wondering if there's more to it.

2) The job looks pretty straight forward...remove side covers, radiator, pull the valve cover, clean, new gasket...reassemble and torque to spec. Are there any nuances to BMW's that I need to be aware of? These things are way more electronic and seemingly sensitive than the bikes I'm used to working on.

3) OEM gasket I assume? I'm sure I can have a local deal track something down. Any recommendations for a reputable online retailer?

4) Anything I'm missing here?

Much appreciated.

If you can't fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Apr 18th, 2020, 11:37 pm

https://www.k-bikes.com/forums/43-k1...lve-cover-leak.