BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
I am new to BMW's, I have ridden all makes and models previously and have always wanted a BMW. This last spring I finally purchased my fist.
It's a 2003 K1200RS with 17K miles on it and its very clean, with only 17k is a baby in comparison to others, It a dream to ride, so much fun and Smooth man I know now what I was missing.
However I have noticed that when riding down a fairly smooth road, if i hit a seam where the road crew has put sealer in a crack I can feel what I can only explain as a thump in the foot pegs.
This is the only time I feel the thump, if I hit a larger bump or pot hole( I live out side Buffalo NY we have a lot of pot holes)I don't feel it
I have looked at all of the normal spots for any looseness, linkages, play center stand bounce and I cannot seem to locate anything

Has Anyone else experienced this? and what was the cure? or is it a BMW thing ?

Its winter and would like to tear the bike down now rather than in the summer, if I have too

Thanks in advanced

·
Registered
149 Posts
I'd say - "not normal" and "not BMW".

Maybe you're experiencing sympathetic thumping for your H-D bros?

·
Registered
16 Posts
K 1200 RS tend to feel little bumps in the road