BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone shed some light on the actual reason(s) that such a light viscosity oil is the spec for this motor?????

·
Registered
2 Posts
Can anyone shed some light on the actual reason(s) that such a light viscosity oil is the spec for this motor?????
Newbie here so can't answer directly, but there have been several discussions about 'oil' stuff on the UK Forum - www.eurokclub.bike - and this post I spotted earlier might partly answer your question:

"Blimey boys if you lot are going to waffle on at least add some history to the thread.....

From September 2004 to 2010 the oil spec was 10/40 the clutch had been an issue for years so you 1300 owners don’t get all sniffy because even that had been around long enough to also have a problem.

In an attempt to sort the clutch problem BM started to suggest!!!! 5/40 in 2010 the then problem was the camchain rattle at start up because the tensioner would not hold 5wt oil, BM then did the recall upgrade which included 1300’s and also added the jump guard which in reality is a solid block of plastic and by 2011 5/40 was set in stone.

As I’ve said before Vines volunteered to fix mine (clutch) so clearly their were other things going on apart from oil, first attempt lasted 6 weeks the second has lasted 10 years.

As for oil, I’m certainly not going into the pros and cons of how my supplies turn up on my door step but I’ve used both Silkolene 5/40 and the BM option and unable to tell the difference I haven’t asked the bike
:)

For 1200 owners the upgraded camchain tensioner is black."

·
Registered
426 Posts
I rarely (never) get involved in oil threads but a recent change from 5W to 10W is worth a mention here.