BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1998 bmw k1200rs
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So first off I know I will be judged for this. But I am curious. If I cut off the exhaust in front of the o2 sensor will it cause issues?

For everyone wondering why I want to , I've almost been hit 12 times in the past 2 days due to nobody hearing me. I don't know how you can't see a big bright red motorcycle but

I'm new to fuel injected bikes and I'm used to rejetting when you open the exhaust

·
Registered
2009 K1300S, 2017 S1000R & 2021 Vespa Primavera clown paint job
669 Posts
I think you need to carefully evaluate your riding and situation analysis. You don't hear cars but you don't turn into them because you look for them. Car drivers do not see bikes. You have to watch eye movement, wheel movement, situations that will make a car move contrary to what is normal, traffic ahead, pot holes, kids on bikes on the sidewalk you have to pretend you are in that car besides being on the bike. Be careful messing with your exhaust. No one can hear a noisy bike at freeway speeds until it passes them. There are few extras out there for a vintage bike. I get cut off many times when I ride on the local freeways. It is normal, some situations worse than others. Occasionally it really gets to me but I try not to react and accentuate the bad motorcyclist image. I do pass cars with a vengeance when needed and feeling a little wronged. The K bike leaves a good vortex at 9000 rpm (Remus). My buddy got caught between a car, boat on a trailer and the left guard rail on a freeway a few years ago. It was interesting. Passing cars were honking at the offending pickup. The guy just pulled into the HOV lane without turning his/her head to look. Bikes hide in the mirror dead zone. I think the new cars with radar are a great thing.