BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After riding with about 180-200 km/h for about one hour due to excessive heat, my tall Aeroflow screen cracked near one of the upper fix points, starting from the screw hole inwards. I wonder if this is covered by warrantee or not. I did not used Locktite and screw was not extra tighten as i have some experience replacing screens. I brought it from a French dealer.

·
IBR# 366
3,145 Posts
I had a similar issue after running 120-150 mph for an extended period. I drilled a small stop hole at the end of the crack and it's been fine for the last few thousand miles.

I'd still contact the French dealer and see what they can do for you.

·
Premium Member
2,680 Posts
My last Aeroflow on an old RT cracked as well. But then, so did the same thickness of the Cee-Bailey when they made a cheaper (i.e. thinner) run of their screens for the GT (I had two: one cracked by knock over, other (thin one) all by itself). Cee-Bailey's attitude is much like that of Corbin - lousy.

Many years ago, I recall someone mentioning that the aftermarket shield companies were drilling the holes with drills that left micro-cracks around them. Then one of them began drilling with some other means (water or laser?). Seems like they went back to the old style. May not hurt to seal the shield's micro-cracks with a soldering gun run around the circumference?

Probably explains the thicker BMW stock shield too. :confused:

Mack

·
Registered
468 Posts
GMack said:
My last Aeroflow on an old RT cracked as well. But then, so did the same thickness of the Cee-Bailey when they made a cheaper (i.e. thinner) run of their screens for the GT (I had two: one cracked by knock over, other (thin one) all by itself). Cee-Bailey's attitude is much like that of Corbin - lousy.