BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

This is my first post here so I figured I'd do a quick introduction. I've been playing with motorcycles for about 30 years now. Got into BMW's by the way of a salvaged r100gs that I was able to bring back to life. Found her in a barn about 6 years ago and spent some time with my son rebuilding it. What a memorable experience. Since then she has been my go to dual sport bike and I really, really, enjoy it. So much so that I bought an r1200gs in 2018. Tons of fun with that bike as well. As this summer dragged on I got bored and started looking online at K bikes. I've always enjoyed touring on a big four cylinder so I figured why not see what the motherland has to offer.

As it may come as a shock to all of you I found what I was looking for. A well cared for 3 owner k1200rs with brand new Penske front and rear! She had almost 80k on the odometer and from the few phone calls and internet pics I saw it looked like a good runner. So against other peoples better judgment (made complete sense to me) I bought a one way ticket from Pensacola to Pittsburgh. Met a hell of a nice guy and by 2pm the day I was off. Spent the next 4 days and 1200 miles enjoying the Blue Ridge Parkway. The bike ran perfectly and was such a joy. Only thing that I could notice was the front brakes felt vague and there was a slight shimmy in the front end.

Figured I would toss some new pads and do a brake fluid refresh once I got home. Just started the job last night. For some reason I just couldn't get the left caliper to bleed at all. Right one was great. But that left one.... Then I looked up and noticed my brake line looks like a python with a fresh kill. 馃榾. I think I found the problem. About 20 minutes later the brake line burst and my credit card is still smoldering from ordering the new stainless line kit for Speigler.

Anyhoo. Really enjoying the bike!