BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Australian riders, have a look at this draft proposal Australian Road Rules General Amendments and Regulatory Impact Statement 2005 (do a search in this document on MOTOR BIKE):
http://www.ntc.gov.au/filemedia/Reports/ARRGralAmendDraftRISNov2005.pdf
Basically it proposes to make illegal lane splitting and filtering. While I think lane splitting at high speed is dangerous, filtering in peak traffic should be OK. Write your comment to let them know what you think (nicely of course):
http://www.ntc.gov.au/RFCList2004.aspx?page=A023124034004500204

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
howzat!!

I wish to comment on proposed legislation regarding lane splitting by motorcycle riders. Whilst the legislation, if enacted may be of benefit to a few, albeit the inexperienced, I believe it presents potential dangers to others. I have about 50 years experience riding motorcycles on a daily basis, many of those on police motorcycles. I find the habit of riders stopping behind stationery cars most dangerous and I try to persuade others not to do it. I split lanes. It has saved me on a number of occasions. The cars form a natural barrier between me and colliding vehicles and I find with the massive acceleration of a bike, and the reluctance of a driver to sideswipe another car, makes lane splitting a safety must. I cannot recall attending an accident involving a motorcyclist whereas lane splitting was the problem. I have an accident free/conviction free record and if I am reluctant to sit in a line of traffic as a potential target for day dreaming drivers. The real problem is that drivers knowing motorcyclists present no threat to them, they are inclined to not watch them. I strongly suggest that the amendments to the act not be tabled and the decision left to the rider who should ride according to his ability.

·
Registered
395 Posts