BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I’m new to world of BMW bikes and have been shopping the K 1300 GT models. So far I’ve test ridden one at a BMW dealership and and still on the fence out it mostly due to some damage on a case and side panel as you can see here.

So far it’s been eye opening that replacement parts are $1600 before tax and the couple of paint folks I’ve talked to are hesitant to say the least in suggesting that refinishing is a lesser cost option. The dealership also replaced the fuel pump last month with 50,000 miles on the bike.

In addition to that one another dealership has one 33,000 miles, less cosmetic issues, with the large color matched top case and in the darker metallic color that I prefer, and is asking $200 more. Both of them are 2009 models. However, the other dealership (non BMW) is a 20hr drive away.

I’m hoping to glean as much information upfront about the potential service costs associated with these bikes. Having compared a service record parts list/price with the internet prices, it doesn’t appear that some parts cost less on the internet when compared with dealer prices. However, I am mechanically inclined and have not ever needed to take a bike in for service other than for regular service of tires and brakes.

·
Registered
2009 BMW K1300GT
394 Posts