BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone put a car tire on the back of a K 1300 GT?? … Typically known as going to the Darkside. Constructive comments only please, I’ve had enough of being called a fool from the BMW MOA site

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What the lawyer said on that website is exactly what you expect to hear from the lawyer. If you’ve ever looked into putting a car tire on the back of a motorcycle, you would’ve seen multiple videos with motorcycles riding through corners in the mountains at speed. There seems to be no issue in going from one corner to the other, the crossover is seamless with issue with handling. I’ve seen videos with the GoPro Mounted on the rear of the bike aimed at the rear wheel showing the road contact… And there seems to be actually more rubber on the road than there is with a conventional motorcycle tire, even in the corners.
I am not a novice rider. I’ve got more than 300,000 miles on 14 bikes Of all kinds over 42 years. I was just wondering if anyone had put a car tire on the back of a K 13 GT without having a Sidecar attached

·
Registered
227 Posts
Hey Dave,

Also take a peek over at the Iron Butt website. I won't say lots, but several guys will run a car tire on the rear for long distance riding, although they would probably spend most of their time on the super slab. I saw one up close and in person on the back of an FJR; accompanied by an IBA sticker on the hard luggage of course !!

·
Registered
227 Posts
Geez. I just had a read of that article from the "Law Firm".

One of the paragraphs begins with this sentence:
: Most motorcycle accidents are devastating.

Seems like a little presumptuous statement.

·
Registered
1 Posts