BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie to the site, and also seeking to become a new BMW owner, (Honda ST100s previously).

I'm seeking info regarding the differences between the 2002 models and the previous years.

Can anyone give a quick response for I have located a 2000, but would hate to spend the money and wish I had gone for a newer model.

Thanks in advance,
Nate :)

·
no power in the 'verse can stop me
1,126 Posts
vaslim3334 said:
Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie to the site, and also seeking to become a new BMW owner, (Honda ST100s previously).

I'm seeking info regarding the differences between the 2002 models and the previous years.

Can anyone give a quick response for I have located a 2000, but would hate to spend the money and wish I had gone for a newer model.

Thanks in advance,
Nate :)
The '02's have a more complex brake system.
I believe they also have cruise control.

Other than that, I can't think of any major
changes anywhere on the bike. Some minor cosmetic stuff, but
they mostly made the 02's uglier. :D

But then, I have a '98 :cool:

·
Looking for better limits...
5,163 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
One difference is the amount of wind protection. The newer bikes have a larger fairing and the winscreen seems to deflect more air in the upper position. Also, post 2002 bikes use different bar risers. They are slightly taller and further back. On prior year bikes, these were offered as a " comfort option " The newer bikes have a slightly less "sport" oriented riding postion which was what I wanted. I already have sport bikes and wanted the RS for sport/touring. Cruise is just icing on the cake.

·
no power in the 'verse can stop me
1,126 Posts
Razel said:
My bad. It should have read " I have a PAID FOR '98"

I'll pay closer attention next time, I promise ;)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·