BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 04 GT and have been reading the posts about ECU replacement. Can someone explain what this is about?? My GT only has ~2000 miles, cuts off a few times when I first start it in cold weather, dies when I try to give it throttle when I first start it, and smokes like hell when I first start it up. I am new to BMWs and not sure what might be up with this. After it warms up it is fine. I saw some previoue posts about the ECU and some of my symptoms, and about a replacement from the dealer. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
501 Posts
Get down to ye olde BMW shop and get the ECU replaced - pronto. Since you're not the original owner and probably don't have a strong relationship with the dealer you should do this before the end of the year. It is not a recall but a "technical service bulletin" # 13 00204 057 (Covers 03/04 K1200RS/GT models). Mention the cold start off-idle stumble and you qualify.

·
Registered
418 Posts
Smokin'!!

The smoking on start up is because you park it on the side stand and/or do not keep it upright for 30 seconds or so after you stop the motor,to allow the oil to drain back to the sump.
Congrats on your purchase!!

The ECU replacement is free by the way.I think it is for all 03 and 04 RS/GT built before April or May 04.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Banjoman,

RUN, don't walk, to your nearest BMW dealer and get the ECU replaced before 01-01-2006. I just had mine replaced this week. The symptoms you describe are most certainly ECU issues. Once replaced, the stumbing and throttle hesitation will cease. As most who have had ECU replacement reported.."It runs like a new bike!" As an added benefit you will realize a noticable increase in your gas mileage.

Don't tarry.....and Good Luck!!

OkeefenokeeJoe

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·