BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Shopping for a K12S. Originally I always wanted the R model, but at almost 53yo, I think I am ready for some wind blockage. Considering the age on these beasties, would getting ESA on one be a high priority for you all at this point in the game ? I understand it was a brilliant system, but as a mechanic by trade, I see mechanical issues in the future with anything electronic with this age. Would a ESA equipped or non equipped suspension be a factor for you present owners if you were shopping today ? Is it that good. For me, the bike will just be one up, tooling around town when I can get free time. Unfortunately, not able to get to mountain corners or distance trips any time soon

·
Premium Member
two K1300S bikes, S1000R & Vespa 150 Primavera clown paint job
1,206 Posts
Now that there are shops rebuilding the ESA systems it is a better option than in the past. I have one K bike with Wilbers and another with the OEM electronic shock package. I have to say the electronic package works well. I put it in comfort on motorways and go to normal in the small areas. Big difference. Sport is even tighter if needed. To get the shocks rebuild is about the same purchasing standard shocks maybe a little less. To outfit my bike with wilbers cost me 1400$ four years ago. Not cheap. (and the guy did a crummy job of setting them up...another story)
K12S bikes are not the best around town bike so be prepared. If you can find a suitable K13S it is a good choice.

·
Registered
453 Posts
Beech is right. The k12/13 is out of it’s element around town. It can be done but there are better cheaper to buy, cheaper to service, cheaper to run bikes for that purpose.

·
Registered
BMW K1200S
37 Posts