BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding now for 15 years and always have ridden all year round. because of that I have had some memorable experiences, like riding on the motorway in a snowstorm.
Last Wednesday was the most memorable up till now, and I don't want too many of those.
What happened?

I live in the village of Vries, some 20 km from the city of Groningen. I had to be at my dentist at 8 in the morning. Walking the dog at 6 I saw it was nice dry freezing weather, about 2 of 3 C below freezing. That's OK with me, so at around 7.30 I got on the bike and rode into town.
Before I was halfway it started raining. Yes, raining.
The water hit the frozen ground and turned to ice. I made it into town, thinking it would be less slippery there, but no, the sidewalks were frozen there as well (the roads were mainly still OK, because in the previous days a lot of salt had been sprayed on the roads.
After my visit to the dentist (from which I escaped with my teeth intact) I got on the bike again and tried to ride out of town veeeery carefully. On the main road all traffic was standing still, because of head-tail crashes that had occurred. While trying to manoeuvre between the lanes, I discovered that the road really had turned to ice. Standing still and moving my boots across the ground was a very slippery and scary experience. The only thing that I could do was to ride straight ahead. If I had wanted to try to get out of the lane by moving sideways, I would certainly have fallen.