BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, can anybody give me some advice. I've been riding my 2003 K1200GT for a few years now with no problems. yesterday, however it just stopped and left me stranded on the side of the road. It surged a couple of time then cut out. It turns over but wont fire. It's either fuel or spark, I don't know. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
137 Posts
Hi everyone, can anybody give me some advice. I've been riding my 2003 K1200GT for a few years now with no problems. yesterday, however it just stopped and left me stranded on the side of the road. It surged a couple of time then cut out. It turns over but wont fire. It's either fuel or spark, I don't know. Any thoughts?
Hi Faz. Could be you have a split fuel line inside the tank... not an uncommon problem that will do what you are experiencing.
In fact I suspect my next door neighbours LT might be suffering the same problem.... will find out soon enough when it starts getting stripped down.
You can supposedly tell by looking in the fuel tank and turning the engine on.... if you hear a "swishing" sound of fuel as it tries to prime then chances are the hose has split, or popped off.
The fuel pump and filter looks like this... it's all inside the tank
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Complete-43mm-Fuel-Pump-Kit-BMW-K1200-Models-16-14-1-341-231-FPK-231K1200/253332407779?fits=Make:BMW|Model:K1200LT&hash=item3afbc9c5e3:g:HsAAAOSwySVaQ7Zt

Could also be a dodgy spark plug lead.....?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hi Faz, I'm with CWS, the fuel line. Mine did the same thing on the way to the gas station. I thought it ran out of gas, but no. Maybe the fuel filter? No. It ended up being a pin size hole in one of the fuel lines. If you get the point where you pull everything, make sure you change the air filter under the gas tank while you're in there. Good luck.

·
Registered
25 Posts
In-tank hoses