BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
First of all i would like to say i enjoy your site and i love the pics, i have promised myself i will get over there when i have saved enough :) but i will have to possibly have to hire something i dont like for transport, like a Harley :-(

Can any of you guys tell me the correct and "EASY" way to change the brake fluid in my K1200RS, year 2001 please,
i hear it is a pain, but as an ex motor engineer, i would be surprised if we could not do it at home, i wish to avoid the mad charges for any sort of service in England!
Regards keith Inglis, BMW Club, East Anglia Section uk.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Brake Bleeding

If you click on the Commnity Archives Fourm, and then on Technical,Repair and Maintenance, and then on Sevices Procedures, here you will find details about bleeding brakes etc.

Neale.

·
Looking for better limits...
5,163 Posts

·
Addict
3,750 Posts
I think you probably have non-EVO like my '97 so have a lot less hassle. I bought a hand vacuum brake bleeder a while back which works great as you pull the fluid through at the bleed nipples. I've forgotten the service instruction, but I prefer to keep flushing new fluid through via the front and rear master cylinder reservoirs, not letting them run dry to get air in. You might as well do the clutch as well. Find out where all the bleed nipples are, including on top of the ABS unit. Fluid is cheap so you can afford to push a couple of cans through to purge the old stuff. DOT4 only on our brakes NOT synth.

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

·
Throttle Jockey
1,718 Posts
voxmagna said:
I bought a hand vacuum brake bleeder a while back which works great as you pull the fluid through at the bleed nipples.
So did I and it works great for one person operation.
$49.99 boys, give 'er a try.

Sears item #00921021000 Mfr. model #21021

·
Registered