BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took delivery of my K12S last night and noticed that the side case locks are different from the ignition key. I had assumed the cases would be keyed to the bike's ignition key. Anyone know if you can do this with the new K as in all the previous models from BMW?

·
Registered
349 Posts
Locks don't come with the bags. You pay extra for them. You can pay less for locks but they won't match the ignition key. You can pay more to get matched locks. Matched locks have to be ordered from Germany. Lastly if the service department is willing to spend the time they can rekey the lock to make it match but it is not easy as BMW as changed how the locks are made. I am a salesman at a BMW dealership ishow I know.

·
Registered
147 Posts
It took about three weeks for my keyed-locks to arrive from Germany when I got my K12R back in September. I think I got my plates from the State before I got working bags.

·
Registered
107 Posts
May be different regions have different selling rules? My cases did take longer to arrive than my bike, but all the BMW cases here, at least in Western Australia, are sold with matching locks/keys as standard.

·
Registered
56 Posts
peteo said:
Locks don't come with the bags. You pay extra for them. You can pay less for locks but they won't match the ignition key. You can pay more to get matched locks. Matched locks have to be ordered from Germany. Lastly if the service department is willing to spend the time they can rekey the lock to make it match but it is not easy as BMW as changed how the locks are made. I am a salesman at a BMW dealership ishow I know.

But can they rekey the top case lock? My local BMW dealer says that they can't rekey the top case on an 08 BMW K1200GT. I found this really hard to believe. Is this that they can't, or don't want to.

Cheers.
Phil

·
Registered
100 Posts
Boston Bagger said: