BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a new K1200GT. I have been riding a 1985 K100RT for the past 12 years. On my first highway trip on the GT I noticed some differences in the way it handled. For example, the bike seems to wobble on the highway especially around traffic. My K100RT was impacted by traffic but it did not have this wobble back and forth. Is this a common trait of the new bike or should I be concerned or doing something wrong? Thanks in advance for your comments.

·
Registered
186 Posts
GT5_33 said:
I just purchased a new K1200GT. I have been riding a 1985 K100RT for the past 12 years. On my first highway trip on the GT I noticed some differences in the way it handled. For example, the bike seems to wobble on the highway especially around traffic. My K100RT was impacted by traffic but it did not have this wobble back and forth. Is this a common trait of the new bike or should I be concerned or doing something wrong? Thanks in advance for your comments.
How many miles on your 'new' GT? What is 'your' definition of a wobble? I would have the tire pressures checked anyway if not done so.

My RS does not 'wobble'.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The K1200 GT has 7500 miles and new Metzeler Z6 tires. The wobble seems to be slight back and forth movement at any speed above 55 mph. I guess it could be too much handle bar input as I am leaning forward & could be putting to much pressure on the bars.

·
No bogey's twist wrist
619 Posts
GT wobble