BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Just purchased a 2002 K12RS with about 76,000 miles on the clock. So far I’ve put about 200 miles on it and have a couple questions. Certainly not looking for problems with it. My other bike is an R1200gs and this is a bit different.

Bike seems to always run hot. Needle goes between 1/2 way and the red and kind of stays there. Normal? I did verify that at times both fans do come on and the temp cycles back down. Also checked the overflow bottle and radiator. Both are good.

Tracking my mileage im getting right around 30 mpg. Seems low. Guessing i might want to change out the O2 sensor. I’m thinking it’s the original one.

Does anyone know of a non BMW O2 sensor. Just realized the oem one is over $300.

Any other suggestions on what else to look at are appreciated.

Thanks,
Peter

·
Registered
13 Posts
Hi Peter,

I'm relatively new to the K12RS world as well. New to BMW too. A few weeks ago I did a 300km day trip on my 2003 K12RS. With both panniers fitted, ambient temperatures 32 deg C and highway speeds 50:50 100/110 kph I got 19 km per litre. Which I think equates to 45 miles per US gallon.

I purchased a GS-911 test unit because I had some problems with the ABS. When testing I could also see when the O2 sensor was operating and how it cycled. Rather than going directly to replacing the sensor is it possible to get the system checked first? There are discussions on this site about O2 sensor functioning and options other than BMW part replacement. Alternatives, didn't look entirely straight forward on a first read so I'm pleased mine works (most probably original given the bike's history).

The bike has a new K&N air filter that I installed as a matter of course in getting it on the road. I don't know how it runs on an old stock item. What condition is the air filter in your bike?