BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to K-bikes. I just started riding a 2003 K1200RS. Where should I expect the normal operating temperature to be on the gauge? Or does it fluctuate greatly depending on conditions? That does not seem likely being that it is liquid cooled. I have noticed that my gauge is reading just above the first line. Sorry, my bike came with no manuals. Thanks.

·
Registered
437 Posts
temp

it still fluctuates depending on weather and driving conditions. my bike runs in center mark above 50mph but rises close to red line at lights. of course, fans come on and everything is good. i was like u, thinking liquid cooling would iron out fluctuations, but that isnt the case. dont worry if u get close to red in traffic and at lights, just make sure fans kick in and cool things down. i think a true check for what's normal for your bike is to run down road at steady 70mph, see where guage settles. this should be normal operating temp.

·
Registered
351 Posts
30K1200 RS operating temp... weather dependent

I too have an 03K12RS. I purchased in Feb. of '03 and road it daily (weather permitting) up here in WI. My assessment is that depending on coolant in system, temperature basically fluctuated from very cold startup (needle pegged to almost off condition). after warmup would generally sit near first mark actually just above it. In hot temperature, never above middle when moving but up to first mark above middle when stopped (granted, no 115 temps here). Just my .02

·
Registered
130 Posts
Jamie,
I would recommend ordering a set of manuals. They are available from your local dealer, or online. If this is your first BMW, a visit to your dealer for a service check and orientation to the bike is in order.

Operating temperature will swing quite a bit, from relatively low on the gauge to the red line when the fans should kick in.

Welcome to the forum and your new K!

·
Registered