BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Post-service ride write-up

Well, I joined the forum two years ago to research a planned purchase of an '08 K1200GT, and have mostly lurked since. After 10K miles of riding, I felt it was time to give a little back with some comments on my bike mods and vendor choices.
So after two weeks and a foot and a half of rain in the SF Bay area, we finally saw blue skies today, and it was time to go out and try a few mods done during the deluge.

Michelin Power Road 4 GT tires - I got 8K miles out of my Power 3s, and loved them. I feel the same way about the PR4 GTs. I've been riding big Sport-Tourers for twenty years, and like these tires the best yet. The profile gives a sporty yet stable feeling turn-in, no wandering on the grooved slab, and plenty of grip on the wet stuff. I was worried about the harder GT compound being an issue, but its perfect. I ride hard in the mountains on a regular basis, and that can chew up some tires on heavy sport-tourers. I also do the occasional long, multi-day highway tour that can square off soft tires, these seem to be a great, grippy, long-life combo.

Beemer Boneyard - I love getting my model-specific oil-change and tune-up kits in one pre-planned box delivered to my front door. Everything I need, great service, great price, with the click of a button...