BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have read a number of threads on this forum and others regarding the benefits of a power commander, particularly on the K1200S. My question: Where can one buy a power commander for a 2006 K1200S? None of the online shops I have looked at have it available for my bike.

Thanks,

Bone
 

·
Registered
2009 K1300S, 2017 S1000R & 2021 Vespa Primavera clown paint job
Joined
·
669 Posts
Doesn't the K13 unit work on the K12 series also? Lots of listings on Ebay say that but I have never used one.
Here is their web site and a K12 hit:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
Let us know how it goes. Assume you're planning a dyno session to calibrate it or are you thinking of getting the autotune module?

Thinking about putting one on my K1300GT, having put a titanium can on and changed the exhaust cam (for a K1200GT one). The lambda sensor feedback loop has adjusted the fuelling well but I'm planning to put a K1300S airbox on to get the extra air intake and volume and am pretty sure it won't adjust up the fuelling that far.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Let us know how it goes. Assume you're planning a dyno session to calibrate it or are you thinking of getting the autotune module?

Thinking about putting one on my K1300GT, having put a titanium can on and changed the exhaust cam (for a K1200GT one). The lambda sensor feedback loop has adjusted the fuelling well but I'm planning to put a K1300S airbox on to get the extra air intake and volume and am pretty sure it won't adjust up the fuelling that far.
I am fortunate enough to have an independent mechanic nearby who is able to work on both my Triumph and BMW. While the installation looks to be straight forward, he can do the dyno too so I would have him do the whole job. It's going to be a bit expensive, but I was caught in stop and go traffic a couple of weeks ago on a remote road and boy did she run rough at low rpm! The bike actually stalled at one point, but I was able to work my way through it.
 

·
Registered
2009 K1300S, 2017 S1000R & 2021 Vespa Primavera clown paint job
Joined
·
669 Posts
As you have found K12's do not like traffic or city driving at all. The wiring to the injectors is in tight quarters and needs to be done carefully with all being bundled tightly to keep out of the way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
I am fortunate enough to have an independent mechanic nearby who is able to work on both my Triumph and BMW. While the installation looks to be straight forward, he can do the dyno too so I would have him do the whole job. It's going to be a bit expensive, but I was caught in stop and go traffic a couple of weeks ago on a remote road and boy did she run rough at low rpm! The bike actually stalled at one point, but I was able to work my way through it.
Yeah, they're not the nicest bikes to ride in town. Mine was OK apart from the general weight and clunky clutch but recently the radiator got gunged up with flies and road shite right where the fan pulls it through, so it started overheating quite badly. Took it off when I did the service and cleared it quite a bit but just bought a nearly new replacement. I'm going to ditch the carbon mudguard (that's a "fender" to you lot) and go back to the standard GT one + extension - for the 300 gram or so saving its not worth messing up the rad every 30,000
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I am fortunate enough to have an independent mechanic nearby who is able to work on both my Triumph and BMW. While the installation looks to be straight forward, he can do the dyno too so I would have him do the whole job. It's going to be a bit expensive, but I was caught in stop and go traffic a couple of weeks ago on a remote road and boy did she run rough at low rpm! The bike actually stalled at one point, but I was able to work my way through it.
Looks like I spoke too soon as my mechanic passed on the installation. Good thing I checked with him before I bought the power commander. Not a big deal. Maybe I'll wait until the next dealer service before I buy it and have them install it.

Bone
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Power Commander V on a 2005 K1200s not a problem, just using the canned Tune from Power Commander website, I odn't have the time to get it tuned, but the bike does run a lot better than what it used to
28808

28809
28810
28811
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
GateKeeper-

I am very interested in the install. I saw a couple of youtube videos on the install, but unfortunately they were in German. Was it pretty straight forward>

Bone
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
GateKeeper-

I am very interested in the install. I saw a couple of youtube videos on the install, but unfortunately they were in German. Was it pretty straight forward>

Bone
the install is not hard, you just have to remove a lot of bits and pieces, but fairly simple, I had a shop do it, they were done in like an hour or so, my only problem is I purchased the PC second hand and the clips holding the connectors in place were removed by the previous owner, I did not know this, so when you put the connector on, it was not being held by anything, so the shop had to zip tie all the connectors to ensure they would not come apart, so far so good, 3 years and still running smoothly.

I did order some of the clips, but just have not gotten around to pulling it all apart to put them on, one day, on a winter weekend I will go and do it, for now, it works has not failed, so I am not worried about it.

If you are going to do it yourself, just take your time, like I said the hardest part is taking all the bits off to get to the area that the ends all clip onto, then putting it all back together, I came close to doing it but stopped just short, as I wanted to ride, so I put it all back together.

you just have to go in deep, but it's all plug and play, and if you purchase new and the clips are on, you are way ahead of me...LOL

just take your time...

28842


28843
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
One other option to consider, if your not into all the bells and whistles of the Power Commander, is the AF-xied. it's truely plug and play. It only adjusts the fueling by fooling the lambda sensor, but I've found it good bang for buck and just one plug to plug out and in.

Of course, if you like the idea of adjusting and twiddling stuff, don't mind me :)
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top