BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone used Motoscan App and the Scantool LX to pull diagnostics and or operate actuators?? What about resetting faults or doing calibration of fuel guage? how about real time ECU data like from the O2 sensor??

I'm working through an ABS fail and dead speedo on my 2003 K1200GT and was looking to pull codes with the Motoscan App and the Scantool OBDLink LX. So I bought the round to squarish cable adapter to connect the Bluetooth adapter to the round diagnostic port and I installed the Motoscan Lite version (free) and I bought the Scantool OBDLink LX. The App says to use the Scantool MX or LX and to verify operation before purchasing paid versions of the app and the app developer assured me the App would work for me.

Well I was able to connect to the adapter with both My Torque app and with the Motoscan App but neither could connect to the BMW ECU data. I did download the Scantool app but didn't try it as it asked for registration and I didn't want to risk locking the adapter to their app..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
the motoscan does not list the K41 bike

oh, the app doesn't list the K41 but lists the K589 twice. K589 is the K100RT but I think the older k1200RS and K1200LT also have a 589 in the model # The app lists the K44 withj (K1200GT and K1300GT)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
529 Posts
Has anyone used Motoscan App and the Scantool LX to pull diagnostics and or operate actuators?? What about resetting faults or doing calibration of fuel guage? how about real time ECU data like from the O2 sensor??

I'm working through an ABS fail and dead speedo on my 2003 K1200GT and was looking to pull codes with the Motoscan App and the Scantool OBDLink LX. So I bought the round to squarish cable adapter to connect the Bluetooth adapter to the round diagnostic port and I installed the Motoscan Lite version (free) and I bought the Scantool OBDLink LX. The App says to use the Scantool MX or LX and to verify operation before purchasing paid versions of the app and the app developer assured me the App would work for me.

Well I was able to connect to the adapter with both My Torque app and with the Motoscan App but neither could connect to the BMW ECU data. I did download the Scantool app but didn't try it as it asked for registration and I didn't want to risk locking the adapter to their app..
Wished I could help but...
I have worked in System and accounting software for 25 years AND about 8 years ago I needed a REAL SOLUTION that worked so I bought a GS-911. At that time the GS-911 had been out for many years and was a mature product. The current GS-911 has evolve to support many more BMW recent models with a new hardware and software platform. Not cheap, but it works and will not mess up your ECU.

Although new options like MotoScan are now available, I think I have "messed with" and debugged enough software / hardware in my career NOT to bother being a guinea pig with my cars or motorcycles.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
529 Posts
oh, the app doesn't list the K41 but lists the K589 twice. K589 is the K100RT but I think the older k1200RS and K1200LT also have a 589 in the model # The app lists the K44 withj (K1200GT and K1300GT)
The naming "K589" is valid and was used by BMW for the 1st generation K1200RS (began as 1997 in Europe and as 1998 in USA). Because these have the older ABS2 technology (without assisted servos), they are in fact very similar to the K1100 where the "K589" naming was also used. Of course, a K1100 is NOT visually similar to a 1997-2000 K1200RS with different frame but they both have similar Motronic ECU and similar ABS.

Later, when they did the 2nd generation K1200RS with facelift front nose and modifed the ABS to have the assisted servos modulator (offered as 2002 to 2004 in USA), they used the naming "K41".

From an engine standpoint and ABS-modulator standpoint, the K1200GT with "brick-engine" (2003-2005) are also considered as "K41" (fairing and/or electrical windshield and/or heated seat have no impact on the ECU or ABS codes).

The "K44" are the later K1200GT with the so-called frontal "slant-4" engine - these are VERY DIFFERENT animals - they use CANBUS technology that was not present on K41 or K589.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,819 Posts
I looked at the functionality chart of the Motoscan last year.K41 wasn't listed so quickly closed the page.

Still relying on the old GS911 usb,although expensive 8 yrs ago,It did help me diagnose failed O2 sensors and a dead iABS on my buddy's GS.A few more hours of fun work to castrate that iABS out of the GS.Almost the same system as the K so that gave me some practice for when, (if ever) I have to castrate the K on the road?

GS911 does give real time values for the iABS and some test functions.I really like the bleed test function as they can be difficult to bleed and one shouldn't miss the finer details/warnings from the BMW service manual.Details not found in Clymer or the DIY instructions posted online.:glasses

Although they go fast,used GS911 usb do come up once in a while.I won't post the link as someone will swipe it but if interested the flea market on ADVRider?There is one right now for not a lot more than buying all the Motoscan stuff and less time wasted.

As for resetting the fuel gauge?All we can do is reset the fuel warning light.Set at 4 Liters left from the factory but can be changed to anywhere between 2l and 6.No need for any scan tool to do that.

If like my bike for the last couple weeks and the gauge won't go all the way up when full?I have a good idea of the cause,I'll fix it this winter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Motoscan doesn't support our K41 bikes

Thanks again both Sailor and H96669.. I'm getting the feeling here that the K41 really isn't supported by the Motoscan app but in a facebook group I have one guy said it worked for him. Perhaps to limited extent minus the iabs.. But I did try the K589/ Looking for the GS911...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
motoscan app working

hey I tried the app again today and I was able to read the ECU and it gives me access to the mototronic and the ABS. I saw fault codes in both and cleared them but went for a rride and the 1 hz abs light persisted and I had no abs. I'm guessing the abs roll away test failed or didn't complete. can you folks point me to a fault code interpreter and troubleshooting?? it showed ABS internal faults 4181 and 4285 and also front brake light switch fault 45FE and in the motronic it showed hall effect sensor signal 1 fail code 0335 and hall effect sensor signal 2 fail code 0385
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,819 Posts
Fix the brake switch first?Switch is on at rest.Pulling lever breaks the contact.Switch is called a "mom-OFF switch" for Momentary OFF.Non-functioning switch=no self test.

Hal sensors fault is normal w/engine off.Start her up?No engine fault?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
where's the like button on this thing! thanks! as for the front brake switch, what is that little screw located behind the lever and dabbed with a locking compound. It almost looks like a fine adjuster to set the lever to switch play...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
GS-911 or OK with just Motoscan

Yes I got my $30USD motoscan Professional working and see for my K41 connection to the Engine Motronics or the IABS (I pulled codes and cleared them. Theres also a number of real time things to see besides the fault codes and clearing codes. And I thought the description said actuators (I think that's a simulated front or rear brake application and perhaps the engine idle... not sure) but I didn't see actuators yesterday when I was connected in the app. I'll check the app again and try to take some screen shots but how might this compare with the GS911. What do people do with a GS911?? which can't be done with Motoscan?? I'll probably make a new post on this subject alone when I look at it again>>


Wished I could help but...
I have worked in System and accounting software for 25 years AND about 8 years ago I needed a REAL SOLUTION that worked so I bought a GS-911. At that time the GS-911 had been out for many years and was a mature product. The current GS-911 has evolve to support many more BMW recent models with a new hardware and software platform. Not cheap, but it works and will not mess up your ECU.

Although new options like MotoScan are now available, I think I have "messed with" and debugged enough software / hardware in my career NOT to bother being a guinea pig with my cars or motorcycles.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,819 Posts
Do not touch the sealed screw.Had nothing to do with the switch.It is the MC piston adjustement and should only be tampered with if the piston isn't set to factory specs.

That is in the manual how to adjust if required but that never seems to happen.But look it up in the manual!

GS911 functionality is described on the maker's website.Look up Hexcode.com
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
front brake switch adjustment for fault code/

I needed to swap my whole front brake master because mine was broken (at the mirror mount) but functional for brakes. So I bought an 01 LT front brake master which had the switch installed but quickly realized that switch worked opposite to the GT switch. I also noticed my GT switch in the broken master cylinder had some wiggle room because the switch mounting stud was sheared. I measured switch resistance for one or both switches finding about 4 ohms when closed.

So a member of K12 classic facebook group says the set screw behind brake lever is used to set the actuation point of the switch and he found it critical to removing a 1hz brake fail indicator in his bike.. My switch mounting pin sheared and also my switch lever being bent from someone's adjustment kinda ties to this switch adjustment theory.. but does anyone have a line on replacement switches (if the 4 ohms is high or mine is above the 4 ohms).. what ohms should closed contacts read??

Fix the brake switch first?Switch is on at rest.Pulling lever breaks the contact.Switch is called a "mom-OFF switch" for Momentary OFF.Non-functioning switch=no self test.

Hal sensors fault is normal w/engine off.Start her up?No engine fault?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,819 Posts
Please read the manual as to the set screw relation to the MC piston preload before you quote as truth what someone on Farcebook thinks.Do not change the MC piston preload from the factory setting in an attempt to adjust the switch.

Yeah there is a cheap off the shelves switch that will work as found by the GS guys?From Digikey?I'd have the details/part number somewhere but sure won't be looking for that until the end of the month at the earliest.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top