BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
k100rs to k100 naked

I edited and rewrote this post because I think my first request for advice might have been too broad.

Here is some background and what I am planning. I have had this bike for about 15 years/70K miles and I am ready for a change. I can only have one bike so I considered selling it and trying a Triumph but I am having a hard time letting the k bike go. It has always run great and I’ve never had any real problems with it. I also have learned to maintain it and work on it and feel confident in digging into it when something does break. So, I am now considering keeping it but customizing it somewhat and turning it into a different bike. At this point my customizing ideas are pretty modest but I’ve never done this sort of thing before so I am trying to research it and figure out if I can do it. I joined this group and wrote to this forum because in searching the internet I’ve only been able to find small bits and pieces on stripping down an rs.

Here is what I’d like to do:

First step:
Remove Fairing
Add Headlight, mirrors and turn signals
Protect radiator

Step Two:
Replace speedometer/tachometer unit with something smaller.
Move ignition key and remove the big plastic pad to expose handlebars

Step 3:
Remove seat and plastic tail section and replace with a custom seat.

Step 4:
Polish or paint aluminum (wheels, engine, gas tank, etc)

------------

Right now I am just focusing on the first step and this is what I am thinking:

To replace the headlight I would need to buy some aftermarket headlight ears and a headlight. I’m not sure if it is easier or better to buy these new or to try to find used ones off another bike. With the ears the headlight seems easy to mount. I am not sure what will happen with the electrical. Is it just a matter of cutting the wires and putting them into a new connector?