BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been hearing a lot of different opinions on tire wear for the K12. Can you describe your riding style (comfort, normal, spirited) and describe tire type & wear rate? I am running Avon Viper AV60, which is a sticky tire, but only gets about 3000 miles per rear tire. I am a spirited driver.

·
Registered
452 Posts
Stock tire might last me 2k miles. I ride fast and hard most all the time. Maybe by this time next year I'll have slowed down a bit. But for now, the grin is addictive.

Tires are cheap, relatively speaking. I might try an M3 next tire.

Gravity

·
Registered
311 Posts
K1200GT(Classic)

Varies a little depending on the ride, but I get anywhere from 6k - 8k on a set of Metzlers Z6.

·
Registered
452 Posts
Weave was telling me about a dual compound tire that was supposed to wear better in the middle. Michelin? Metz? I cannot recall.

I had a dual compound last year but Pirelli I think and I was underwhelmed by it.

Let's see what the future brings.

Gravity

·
Registered
22 Posts
I put Michelin Pilot Road 2's on my K1200R last year to replace the Sportecs that came with the bike (which seemed to be made of black cheese on the basis of wear rate). I have since done around 6000 miles (lot of motorway miles) with very little wear apparent. They also did me several laps of the Nurburgring last summer. Superb all round tyre.

·
Premium Member
146 Posts
Tire Mileage

My 07 GT came with Bridgestone 020s. After the 3K service I headed out for a 10K mile trip around the US, changing the first set in Charleston after 6,032 miles. The second set of 020s were changed after another 6,938 miles. Most of this riding was done at relatively spirited speed in high winds, torrential rain and light snow. They performed very well in every element to which they were subjected.